Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve never been able to figure out what year I should attach to Winter seasons. At least if I do it this way people will continue to be confused about what year it is for a few more weeks. That’s the only way to go in my book.

Warning: Bored, boring, negative, disillusioned opinions within.

Jump to:
Stuff that’s ending
Stuff that’s continuing
Stuff that’s starting

Series That Are Ending

Poyopoyo Kansatsu Nikki
I never thought this day would come. That Poyo would actually end! It’s hard to get sick of an anime that actually knows it doesn’t deserve 30 minute episodes. It kept things short and was genuinely amusing. It was also accurate. I think I’ve said that before. Anyway, I’ll probably miss Poyo after a few months without it.

Kyousogiga
I don’t really get it. I mean, I’d be lying if I thought the OVA made any sense, but I was expecting this to both make sense and be true to everything that I liked about the OVA. Neither thing really happened much. I won’t say I didn’t enjoy it, but like… what did I watch? We’ve got 100 minutes of Kyousogiga now and I still have no clue what anything is.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun
I don’t know why I bothered watching all of this. Shizuku’s and Haru’s flip-flopping didn’t even make sense and whatever it was I liked about the first episode got old really fast. I also stopped liking Shizuku, because literally all she ever wants to do is study. Who in the world spends all of their time studying (by choice)? Boring people, that’s who. It’s certainly a good looking show, I’ll give it that. That’s it, though.

Wooser no Sono Higurashi
Another short I will miss! Although I still don’t know what a Wooser is and I still can’t see that dot as a nose rather than a mouth.

K
Unsure of what my final opinion is. I spent most of the series being bored but I did like it near the end… And I mean in a genuine way instead of just laughing at Mary Poppins speaking incomprehensible German. I think it probably just spent too much time on boring stuff. Yeah, let’s just leave it at that. I feel like I’ll probably watch the sequel anyway.

Code:Breaker
I watched this for Dog, and continued for Dark Shame. A mistake! Not a horrendous one, mind you, but Puppy was not comparable to Dog and the last few episodes felt like it was trying to pull a Tales of Rebirth. And by “pull a Tales of Rebirth” I mean you really don’t need need to say one person’s name that much in such a short amount of time, please stop!

Series That Shall Continue

Smile Precure
I’ll admit that I’ve been bored of Smile Precure for many, many episodes. But they finally realized that they needed to have some proper badassery mixed in with some proper character development (or jeez, I don’t know, just moments, anything to make me care again) so I suddenly got five amazing episodes to make me ultra happy again just before the finale. I’m ready for it, Smile. Bring it on!

Saint Seiya Omega
I’m at least four episodes behind on this right now because they’re not even trying anymore. I know it’s a sequel that probably didn’t have genuine inspiration behind it and had nothing to do with the original creator of the story, but do you seriously have to reuse plot ideas from the original series without even attempting to make it seem different? It feels like it’s been forever since there was a good episode, and since they’re not attempting to be even slightly original anymore (or have real fight scenes) it actually feels like I’m watching the original series again. Not very pleasant.

Shin Sekai Yori/From The New World
While it is genuinely interesting to learn about the world and stuff in this anime and the Shigeyasu Yamauchi episodes are neat, oh my goodness are these characters bad. I don’t know who any of these people are and every time anyone makes a decision beyond Mamoru being cowardly I’m shocked. Every time someone’s relationship with another character changes I’m shocked. This is the most shocking anime. Too bad the goofy designs of these silly new creatures and the fact that anyone could be anyone/do anything/do anyone takes away any potential for immersion.

Zetsuen no Tempest
I didn’t watch the latest episode, though apparently it’s a recap anyway. While I’m disappointed that they couldn’t be bothered to keep the directing and visuals up to the same standards as episode 1 (actually it’s basically nowhere near that now), I have still been enjoying it. Still overdramatic and ridiculous. I wish it would tone that down a bit because I want to take it seriously, but I’m pretty sure the only reason I want to take it seriously is because Aika makes things interesting. I’ll probably be disappointed by the end of the series because of that. Oh well.

Psycho-Pass
Haven’t watched episode 12 yet. It took me a long time to actually even watch episode 1 of this, because rather than associating the name Gen Urobuchi with jokes about the word “butcher” I’ve started to associate it with jokes about the word “botch.” It’s not bad, though. Even if the characters are still very lacking in depth and there’s quite a bit of logicderp in the behavior of them at times, it is pretty interesting. I like how half the problems seem to be a result of the whole Psycho-Pass system itself.

Even better is that villain. Not that he’s particularly interesting on his own, but he brings interest to the table by forcing the main characters to actually make decisions for themselves instead of just relying on what a friendly pre-recorded voice tells them. In a world like Psycho-Pass’s, making your own decisions doesn’t sound like a very common occurrence. I like this. Keep going in this direction!

Robotics;Notes
How I was able to muster up the willpower to press play on the first episode of this after suffering through all of Chaos;Head I just don’t know. Thankfully, that fear was completely uncalled for. It isn’t anything like Chaos;Head. There aren’t even any turtles. Instead there are small robots, dysfunctionally large robots, Mr. Pleiades, a charismatic main character whose charisma isn’t enough to make the other main character do anything other than play video games, and probably conspiracies or something. Sounds good to me.

New Series! Except they are not exciting enough to warrant an exclamation point.

Nekomonogatari (Kuro)
Ten million times better than the Tsubasa Cat part of Bakemonogatari led me to believe it would be. But after this, regardless of how much I liked it, I will probably hurt something if I have to watch yet another episode about this stupid cat.

Cuticle Detective Inaba
Not sure what I just watched. Part of me actually found it a little funny, but another part of me was struggling to keep up and asking “is this actually funny or am I just smiling because I have no idea what I’m watching?” I might give the second episode a try, but at the same time I feel like I need a break from watching series of questionable quality.

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha
This was actually pretty amusing. Not the breasts part, except for when the Demon King is showing the Hero her crest, but just kind of in general. Possibly also interesting, if I can make sense of their logic. Either it wasn’t actually logical at all or I was too sleepy to understand it. Both possible, will rewatch and keep watching to find out.

Love Live!
High school girls trying to save their club — I mean their school. By “working as hard as professionals” to become school idols (seriously? How about living your own dream instead of dropping everything just because you don’t want your school to close after you graduate?). Maybe good for people who are into idols, but I guess I’m not unless it’s Sheryl Nome.

[EveTaku] AKB0048 - 01 (1280x720 x264 AAC)[3907D306]_Jun 2, 2012 11.31.49 PM

Let’s keep it that way.

Amnesia
So forgettable I almost forgot I watched it. I kind of like the idea of not having your memories and having to try really hard to not reveal that fact to any of your close acquaintances while you try to figure out who the heck they even are, but Amnesia somehow managed to make an interesting concept… well, incredibly forgettable.

GJ Club
The best anime this season other than Chihayafuru (and most likely Dokidoki Precure). You heard me. B-but it’s not like I like it or anything. Y-you should see that statement more as an insult to this season rather than a praise for this anime! S-stupid reader.

Sasami-san@Ganbaranai
There’s only one thing that stops me from saying I’m a fan of Shaft. I mean, I absolutely love the visuals of basically every show they do. The problem is that most of the stories they seem to adapt are like, really really boring to me. I’m not convinced this is an exception, but it’s not like I’ll be watching much else, so I’ll give it another episode. It seems more promising than the likes of Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru and Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko anyway.

Chihayafuru 2
I was going to wait for subs but decided to just watch it when it aired. I’m impatient like that, at least when it comes to things as good as Chihayafuru. There wasn’t much karuta going on in this first episode, but that’s okay. It’s good to be back, and it is recruitment time! The karuta will come, and it will be just as glorious as it was in the first season. Also wtf karuta on a table while standing. Even just for educational purposes, that must have been weird.

Anything that airs after this that is not Precure is a thing I don’t care about. That’s a first! Now let’s all hope Dokidoki Precure saves anime (it probably will, actually) and that the second episodes of some of these new shows end up more interesting.

