Picture has no relation to post.

Picture has no relation to post.

What’s that? Sandra’s posting things again? No way!

Today I bring you my first impressions of the small amount of new Spring 2013 anime that I have decided to try out. Unlike my usual seasonal posts, there’s no commentary on older stuff. I’m not really anywhere near caught up and only have any noteworthy thoughts for a few shows (some of which I may review or something in a few months anyway). Not that I have any noteworthy thoughts on the new shows, either, but you know.

Red Data Girl
From the first episode I actually found this quite interesting in a lot of ways. And by a lot of ways I mean like two. Good enough for me. I’ll be checking out the second episode at least. I kind of liked the atmosphere, too, though I guess it wasn’t anything special.

Line Town
There’s a duck in it named Sally who dances in the opening and likes karaoke (this has yet to come up but I am eagerly awaiting the inevitable). Plus, it was actually pretty amusing. But you know me, liking kids’ shows.

Karneval
I really liked the music near the start, but then I had no idea what was going on because there were like five different things happening at once. It also might have been a little too fabulous for me. I don’t think I’ll be watching more of this.

Yahari Ore no Seishun whatever
I couldn’t resist at least attempting to watch this. It does, after all, have one of the most ridiculous titles the world (not just Japan!) has ever produced. I wasn’t expecting much, but it was actually… pretty okay. Friendless talking heads. Not bad. Assuming it doesn’t become boring and I don’t decide to not watch any new anime again, I’ll be following this one.

Aku no Hana
Alright, this is what I wanted to see. Something that kept my full attention, even if most of the time I was just captured by the atmospheric music (nothing in particular happened for most of the episode, after all). And then some stuff happened, and it was kind of creepy, and the ending theme was pretty trippy. Not quite as trippy as a certain Teruo Ishii movie I watched last night, but that’s not the point. You have my attention, Aku no Hana.

Boku wa Ousama
Something about simplistic art styles really appeals to me. The narration style and voice in this kind of irritates me though. And, well, it just wasn’t all that funny. I mean, you’ve got the king making everyone search for elephant eggs. Okay. Maybe that’s a little funny, but that’s all it had for the seven and a half minutes I gave it. Not interested anymore.

Shingeki no Kyojin
Having no clue what this was, I watched the first episode. I kinda got a little scared by some combination of staff and cast as I watched it, but hopefully it’s nothing. I liked the first episode. Just don’t know how things are going to go from here. So paranoid. But this won’t be Guilty Crown. It’s not even anime-original! There’s no way it could! Also what’s with giving giants hugely retracted lips? Is that actually a thing? This is the second time I’ve seen giants like that.

I’m not really sure what else has yet to air, but I’m sure there will be one or two things airing after this point that I’ll decide to try out, since there usually are. I also know that there’s an anime about realistically-rendered ducks/geese that has not been subbed, and, having found no raws, I feel that this may be a tragedy in disguise. CrunchyRoll wants us to watch shows about bears, but not birds. :(

