27306365

Fanart completely unrelated, but it’s too cool not to post, man!

A lovely post with opinions about series I ended up watching that recently ended, as well a small bit about certain still-airing space shows you should be watching, and a bit on what interested me for the Summer season shows.

Aku no Hana
I don’t know how to feel about this. I dropped it after three episodes initially, because though I was enjoying it I didn’t feel like there was any particular point to watching it. I picked it up again after hearing lots of praise for a nice scene of cathartic vandalism, and ended up just watching the whole thing. I feel like I came out of Aku no Hana with only two or three really memorable, worthwhile moments, though. Maybe my thought processes when I dropped it were on the right track after all.

Also, while I didn’t mind the rotoscoping at first, it started to bother me pretty fast. I kept expecting these people who almost looked like adults to not make decisions like the ones they were making, and I couldn’t understand why any almost-adult would behave the way they did (because, y’know, they’re not anywhere near adults). And sometimes the rotoscoping was ultimately awkward enough to take me out of the moment. That’s a big no for a show that spends much of its time trying to immerse you in its atmosphere.

Chihayafuru season 2
It just had to go and end. Nobody really wanted it to. While this isn’t quite up to par with the first season, it still has all the things that made me love it. An obvious passion for karuta from the original creator (not actually sure if the animation staff always know what they’re doing, though…) which gets even outsiders interested in the rules and varied strategies and techniques used in competitive karuta, and also how they let the cast develop inch by inch through karuta and interacting with those they meet through karuta. That third season’s a long way away, though, isn’t it?

Red Data Girl
Made me wish I had continued watching Line Town instead (its language was simple enough that the lack of subs wouldn’t have been an issue for me anyway). It was kind of cool how it always had this weird magical stuff going on all the time, but the mysterious parts and the parts that were supposed to be creepy stopped being that way pretty fast because I didn’t really have any idea what was going on. What are we scared of happening, again? And what could cause it? I felt like I was watching this just to hear Kouki Uchiyama the further into the series I got. Would not recommend.

Suisei no Gargantia
I loved the first episodes of this. But then there were a few episodes that were very messy and felt like they were floundering around, considering changing the entire point of the story. And then it turns out soylent green really IS people! And for some reason Ledo is bothered by this. What ever happened to disintegrating pirates and screaming about how killing off space squids was The Most Important Thing? At least the last episode made me feel better about the series as a whole by actually being good again.

But I’m swearing off any anime that has Gen Urobuchi anywhere in its staff. I doubt the fact that all the anime his name is attached to are incredibly flawed is solely because of him; a lot of the most common problems I find in these series are completely nonexistent in the Fate/Zero novels… and I think it’s showing me that maybe, just maybe, he shouldn’t be working on things that don’t have time for all his filler. Things where people expect that something big will happen somewhere in that 25-minute timeslot. Because while that may be how things work in TV series, that’s absolutely not the case when we’re talking about books and visual novels.

Anyway, now opinions on things that are not new but are also not over.

Majestic Prince
I picked this up a few weeks ago because some cat person on Twitter told me to. It’s almost as if recommending things actually makes people try them! While I certainly don’t think this is the best thing since sliced bread (and it’s hard not to compare it to sliced bread when I’m currently exploding mentally from how awesome Space Battleship Yamato 2199 and the 2012 adaptation of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure are) but it’s definitely enjoyable. This is the real ~healing~ anime. Seeing this cast have so many small moments and acts of tenderness towards each other just gives me so many warm feelings. It’s lovely to watch.

Space Battleship Yamato 2199
If you have no interest, get some. If you have some interest, watch it now. If you have any doubts, cast them aside. This anime is for you, because you like anime.

Dokidoki Precure
I’m keeping up with the episodes as they air, for the most part, but I’m not sure how much I have/want to say about it at this point. I really like Regina but feel like her story’s kind of being wasted because she’s not really doing any bad things to Mana out of her own free will, it seems. Either way, though, all the people being disappointed in Dokidoki are making me sad. I’m not sure how it holds up to the best entries in the series yet, but it’s at least managed to completely steamroll Smile Precure.

Saint Seiya Omega
I’m, uh, really far behind on this by now, most likely. I only watched two episodes after the glorious episode 51, and was, as I expected to be, deeply disappointed by them. I don’t know when I’ll have the heart to continue, but I suspect that since I watched all of the original series despite finding it very boring most of the time I’ll eventually manage to finish this.

On to the new things.

BROTHERS CONFLICT
I keep trying these silly otome anime adaptations. You’d think I’d learn. But I don’t want to learn! I want to believe that one of them will be good! BROTHERS CONFLICT is not that one, but I’m pretty sure I’m going to watch it regardless. Yoshimasa Hosoya is voicing an apparent tsundere, and a PSP game I have called Blue Roses made me learn that this is a thing I want. There’s not much worth watching this season anyway, so why not watch a bad thing or two along with the worthwhile things?

Senki Zesshou Symphogear G
I might have broken an aniblogger law by referring to this with that title, but I’m willing to risk it. Anyone who ever said anything bad about the first season has bad taste, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. It’s a logical conclusion that the second season would be even better. And the first episode delivers “even better” pretty clearly, I’d say.

Genei wo Kakeru Taiyou: il sole penetra le illusioni
I was kind of interested in this from some early key visuals/concept art I saw a long time ago. Though it’s certainly not the best art, something about those images intrigued me. I’m always up for trying new magical girl anime anyway. The first episode itself was… not really enough for me to decide if I’ll enjoy it. I’ll give it one or two more to see how it’s going to go from here, but for now I’m just intrigued.

Monogatari 2nd season
What kind of lazy title is this? I was actually pretty underwhelmed by this despite loving the series, but I’m sure that’ll be fixed within the next few episodes. Then again, I may just require less Hanekawa. Pretty sure the only time I ever cared about her was in Nekomonogatari Black.

I’ll also probably try out Blood Lad and Makai Ouji, albeit with great skepticism. And if Kimi no Iru Machi has the same voice cast as the OVA I’ll watch it (knowing it will likely be just as stupid), and I’m excited for Gatchaman Crowds (you should be too), but all I can rely on to save anime this summer is Symphogear G.

And of course… SPACE BATTLESHIP YAMATO 2199.

